Yomira Meregildo

Chayse Ierlan turned away 18 shots and was named Player of the Year as Section V’s Victor defeated Section VI’s Niagara Wheatfield, 5-1, to claim it’s first-ever NYSPHSAA Division I championship.

Ierlan and Wheatfield goalie Peyton Siegmann showed why they are the best in the state as they both worked scoreless first periods.

Niagara Wheatfield opened the scoring when Chace Woods danced in and beat Ierlan with a wrist shot.
Sam Lambert scored the first of his two goals to tie the game, which triggered a three-goal outburst by the Blue Devils. Lambert would also add his team’s fourth goal.

Ashton Collazo, who also scored twice, netted the Blue Devils third and fifth goals of the day.

Josh Albert netted the game-winner at the 10:16 mark of the second period.

This was the second come-from-behind win for the Blue Devils who erased a 2-0 deficit against Section X Massena in Saturday’s semifinal game.

Previous articleNiagara Wheatfield tops North Rockland
Next article“Sweet” Home revenge
Former stand-up comic and music journalist who has been in sports journalism for 20 years. Dave has covered high school sports, NHL, Minor League Baseball, NWHL, college, NBA and MLB. Has written for, Baseball America, The Buffalo News, Boston Globe, Associated Press, The Hockey News, Newsday, Ottawa Citizen, Tampa Tribune, New York Hockey Journal, New England Hockey Journal, Tonawanda News, Niagara Gazette, Lockport Journal, Ken-Ton Sun, Virginia Pilot, Providence Journal, Scranton Times-Leader, Portland Herald, and Toledo Blade. Athletic interests: hockey, baseball, boxing, aikido, Jeet Kune Do, wrestling, basketball, football and soccer.