WNY Athletics

Spencerport rolls to Cheektowaga Duals title

The Spencerport Rangers wrestling team rolled to the team title at Saturday’s Warrior Duals held at Cheektowaga Central High School. The tradition rich Rangers out of Section V’s Rochester area dominated their pool with wins over Cheektowaga, Canisius, Hamburg, and Westfield/Ripley/Chautauqa Lake (WRCL). Spencerport met defending Section 6 Dual Meet champion Niagara Wheatfield for the team title. The Rangers picked up ten pins in a 64-22 victory over the Falcons and claimed the team title for the first time since 2013. Nine Rangers went undefeated in the tournament.

Wheatfield was led by strong individual performances by Justin McDougald (2017 Div. 1 NYS tournament finalist), Warren McDougald (5th in NYS 2017), and Josh Thibeault all going 5-0.

The Falcons picked up dual meet victories over St Joe’s, Webster-Schroeder (Section V), Maple Grove, and Southwestern.

In the dual with Maple Grove, Justin McDougald met the Red Dragons’ Shane Hetrick (4-time small NYS tournament qualifier, 5th in 2017) in what was the bout of the day. McDougald, currently ranked 3rd at 126 for NYS large schools, secured two takedowns and a reversal to defeat Hetrick 6-2.

Hamburg met Webster-Schroeder in the 3rd place match. The defending Warrior Duals champion defeated the Bulldogs 57-24. WRCL defeated St Joe’s 47-34 for 5th place, Canisius defeated Southwestern 48-30 for 7th, and Maple Grove defeated Cheektowaga 35-33 for 9th overall.

Undefeated wrestlers at the tournament were WRCL’s Bryce Rowe, Southwestern’s Giuseppe Hoose, Canisius’s Tim Abate, Maple Grove’s Zak Trim and Jake Tomlinson, and the Wheatfield trio of J. McDougald, W. McDougald, and Thibeault. Webster-Schroeder featured four undefeated wrestlers.

The final team standings are:

  1. Spencerport
  2. Niagara Wheatfield
  3. Webster-Schroeder
  4. Hamburg
  5. WRCL
  6. St Joe’s
  7. Canisius
  8. Southwestern
  9. Maple Grove
  10. Cheektowaga

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *