In each postseason since 2013, the Western New York Wrestling Coaches Association (WNYWCA) has recognized the top big school and small school senior wrestlers in WNY with its ‘Champion of Champions’ award.

The 2021 recipients of the Champion of Champions are Williamsville North’s Mike Catanzaro and Newfane’s Andy Lucinski.

“The WNYWCA is extremely proud to award Michael and Andy our 2021 Champion of Champions awards,” said association president and Starpoint head coach Steve Hart. “Michael and Andy both had outstanding careers at their respective schools and displayed all of the characteristics and dedication that are synonymous with our sport throughout their careers. There is no doubt both of them will excel at the next level.”

Catanzaro captured his third Section VI Division I title this spring, placed 8th in NYS in 2020 (there was no tournament this year), and is the Spartans’ all-time wins leader with 174 individual victories. Mike will wrestle for the Division I Ohio University Bobcats this upcoming winter.

Lucinski claimed his fourth Section VI Division II title this spring. He’s a three-time NYS tournament place winner, a two-time finalist, and is tied for 23rd all-time in WNY history with 217 varsity wins. Lucinski will wrestle Division I for the University at Buffalo Bulls this upcoming winter.

In addition to recognizing the WNYWCA Champion of Champions winners, WNY Athletics’ Matt O’Rourke is pleased to recognize some other coaches and athletes for their accomplishments in the spring 2021 high school wrestling season:

Division I Coach of the Year: Josh Eagan, Niagara Falls (10-0 record, Niagara/Orleans ‘Super League’ champions, Section VI Division I champions, #1 ranked large school)

Division II Coach of the Year: Chris Edwards, Pioneer (7-0 record, Section VI Division II champions, #1 ranked small school and WNY overall team)

Special Recognition Award – Coach: Jared Teal, Orchard Park

Special Recognition Award – Athlete: Ciaran Edwards, Lewiston-Porter

Dual Meet of the Year: #2 Pioneer 29 – #1 Falconer 24 (Thursday, June 10th at Falconer High School)

Most Improved Team: Eden (2019-2020: 3-3 league, 4-10 overall, 4th place ECIC III. 2021: 5-0 league, 10-4 overall, 1st place ECIC III, 6th place, Section VI Division II tournament).

Middle School Most Outstanding Wrestler (7th/8th graders): Griffin LaPlante, Starpoint (7th grade, Section VI Division I finalist, 17-3 record)

Underclassmen Most Outstanding Wrestler (9th/10th graders): Cam Catrabone, Williamsville North (9th grade, Section VI champion, 12-0 record)

Upperclassmen Most Outstanding Wrestler (11th/12th graders): Kam Riordan, Pioneer (12th grade, Section VI champion, 19-1 record)

Newcomer of the Year: Austin Zimmerman, St. Joe’s

Most Improved Wrestler: Aidan Spina, North Tonawanda

Unheralded Wrestler Award: Bryce Bolognese, Lancaster

Selfless Soldier Award: Sam Taylor, Starpoint

Comeback Wrestler of the Year: Zach Russell, Pioneer

Most Outstanding Wrestler (for each league):

Niagara/Orleans ‘Super League’: Andy Lucinski, Newfane

CCAA I: Brock Johnson, Falconer

CCAA II: Dakota Mascho, Portville

ECIC I: Mike Catanzaro, Williamsville North

ECIC II: Michael Schiffhauer, Iroquois

ECIC III: Shane Walczyk, Eden

All awardees (except WNYWCA Champion of Champions) were individually selected by Matt O’Rourke. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *